deutsche Versionfrom 3.-6.June 2010
Award/Jury Nominees Gala Nominees/Winners since 1984

The “Max und Moritz” Award
For over 20 years the „Max und Moritz“ Prize has significantly contributed to the appreciation of graphic literature in the German-speaking countries. The prize is endowed by Bulls Press, Frankfurt a.M. and awarded by the City of Erlangen. The presentation of the awards recognizes the work of outstanding artists, encourages commendable publishing and call attention to up-and-coming artists. The prize is also concerned with intensifying the discussion concerning the qualitative criteria of judging graphic literature. Twenty titles have been nominated for the “Max und Moritz” Prize 2010, eight of the ten winners will be announced at the gala on 4 June. The winner of the Lifetime Achievement Award has already been announced: it is Pierre Christin, one of the most renowned and creative authors of contemporary comics in Europe, who was born near Paris in 1938. The publishers Salleck Publications and Carlsen Comics will receive the Special Prize of the Jury for their Will Eisner editions of “Die Spirit Archive” (Salleck Publications) and „ Ein Vertrag mit Gott. Mietshausgeschichten” (Carlsen Comics). Prizes in the categories „Best Comic Strip“, „Best German Comic“, “Best International Comic” and “Best Comic for Children” will be awarded at the “Max und Moritz” gala based on the list of nominees. There were no nominees in the categories “Best German Comic Artist” and “Best Student Comic Publication”. The winners in these categories will be announced during the “Max und Moritz” gala. This year’s jury for the “Max und Moritz” Prize consisted of: Denis Scheck (critic, Deutschlandfunk, „Druckfrisch“ ARD), Christian Gasser (author, journalist and radio presenter), Herbert Heinzelmann (journalist and media scientist), Brigitte Helbling (journalist, member of the Arbeitsstelle für Graphische Literatur of the Universität Hamburg), Andreas C. Knigge (journalist and publicist), Jan Taussig (Bulls Press) and Bodo Birk (Erlangen International Comic Salon).